Chewy Chocolate Gingerbread Cookies

I was in a baking mood again today so I made some cookies.  This was from a Martha Stewart recipe which can be found at http://www.food.com/recipe/Chewy-Chocolate-Gingerbread-Cookies-145285 .  I found it while searching online for a chewy cookie which was chocolate and used fresh grated raw ginger root

I made a few changes.  I substituted semi-sweet chocolate chips for the chocolate cut into chunks.  I had no squares of semi-sweet chocolate, but plenty of chocolate chips.  I had bought two big bags of them at a good sale during the christmas season.  Also, I figure pouring chocolate chips in a recipe is a whole lot easier than trying to chop chocolate up into chunks.  Either way you get the important part—the chocolate!

There were only two other changes I did to the ingredients.  I only put 1 teaspoon of ground ginger instead of 1 1/4 teaspoons.  The other thing I did was used dark cocoa powder instead of regular cocoa powder.  I had regular cocoa powder, just thought the dark cocoa might add better flavor. 

There were two other changes I did towards the end of making the cookies.  The first change was after the recipe was mixed, I omitted the step to pat out the dough and seal with plastic wrap.  I simply put a piece of plastic wrap over the mixing bowl and stuck it in the fridge to firm.  The other modification I ended up having to make, was to bake the cookies longer than called for in the recipe.  This could have simply been a difference in ovens.  I baked mine for 15 minutes instead of the 10-12 minutes stated in the recipe.

Chewy Chocolate Gingerbread Cookies

These were really tasty cookies, especially with a glass of ice cold milk.  The combination of chocolate with the spices was a nice flavor.  It was a good soft chewy cookie, which I will definitely make again and may even try a batch without the chocolate chips.

Leave a Reply

