Rainy Day Homemaking and Baking Banana Bread

Today started out a rainy dismal day with clouds looming overhead.  My daughter has been sick with a stomach bug, so she has been resting while vegging out watching cartoons.  She attempted to swallow a ginger root capsule to quell the nausea, but was unable.  She’s almost an adult and still has trouble swallowing pills, so we resorted to our good old standby of sipping peppermint tea.

It’s been a slow quiet day, but I’ve gotten quite a bit done.  I started this morning by taking the grain mill outside and grinding some wheat.  This is the first time I’ve done it outdoors, but it worked so well I think this is what I’ll do from now on.

There are two reasons grinding wheat outdoors is better than indoors.  One reason is my electric grain mill sounds like an airplane taking off, which is made worse by being in the enclosed indoors.  Secondly, even though I attempted to replace the filter in my grain mill, it still persists in shooting forth flour dust into the air and all over anything nearby.  Outdoors makes for easier clean up.

I used the fresh ground wheat and some over ripe bananas to make a loaf of banana bread.  I am peculiar over bananas.  Bananas only get eaten if the skin is yellow or yellow with a bit of green.  Once bananas start to get spots they are only good for putting in baked goods or feeding to the goat.

Here is a recipe for a nice moist banana bread I have perfected over the years(must use bananas with spots).  Pour 1/2 c. melted butter in mixer bowl with 1 1/4 c. sugar.  Add 2 eggs and 4 mashed up ripened bananas.  Mix all ingredients well.  Add 1 tsp. baking soda, 1/2 tsp. baking powder, and 1/2 tsp. salt.  Blend well and then mix in 2 c. wheat flour.  Finally add 3 Tbsp. milk and 1 tsp. vanilla.  Mix ingredients well and then pour into a greased loaf pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour.  Test to see if it is done by poking the middle with a clean toothpick.  If moist batter is on toothpick, then try to cook a few more minutes.  After it comes out of the oven, I rub the end of a stick of butter over the top of it.  Yum!

Besides baking, today has mainly been one of those slow days I have dibbled in a little of this and that.  I have played laundry catch up some, done some writing, and worked on a few other miscellaneous chores.  Well, the day has brightened up, my daughter is feeling better, and I must go try to accomplish a few more things.

One response to this post.

  1. […] my lovely friend Sabrina over in the US has given me her recipe for her Banana Bread Now, the reason this loaf would be daring, is because i don’t like Bananas lol. But […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

