Gardening and Starting a New Sewing Project

Another beautiful day outside today.  A few more seedlings have sprung up and made an appearance.  A few seedlings failed to start, probably due to the seeds not being the freshest.  Oh, well.  It was worth a try.  So far have some broccoli, tomato, cucumber, and basil seedlings.  This morning I planted some roma tomato seeds indoors, then went outdoors to tackle the herb beds.

The chives are growing beautifully in the herb beds.  I have decided though, to plant a few vegetables in the herb beds since the dirt is better.  Along the side of one square I planted some dwarf sugar peas, which are only supposed to get about 2 1/2 ft. tall and can grow up the side of the fence.  They will be sharing a square with a clump of chives.  In another square I planted some bunching onions along the back of the square, then broadcast some lettuce seed and interplanted some carrot seeds.

Hopefully all of my grand garden experimenting will go well.  Trying out some ideas from things I’ve been reading up about gardening.  Found out today a neighbor will be able to till up our big garden spot next week.  I can’t wait!  I’ve got a loosely done drawing of what I want to plant in it.  I’m gonna try to do some companion planting this year.

I’ll try to share some photos of the herb garden bed another day.  Maybe as some of the seeds start to sprout.  Other than cleaning, gardening, and writing….I got in a spurt to start another sewing project.  I didn’t get any actual sewing done on it today, but I cut out fabric for a sundress from a pattern I picked up a few weeks ago.  Don’t know that you can tell by the photo, since the backside of the fabric is showing.  It’s a pretty bright pink fabric with little flowers in different shades of pink.  Now to decide…ruffle or no ruffle on the dress hem?

Sundress Pattern Pieces

2 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks for linking to my rather lengthy lesson on starting seeds! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

