Almost Scratch Apple Pie

Apple Pie

There were some apples needing used up beckoning on the kitchen table, so an apple pie was just the thing today.  I call this an almost from scratch pie, because everything was made from scratch except the bottom pie shell.  Making pie crust is not my favorite thing and usually results in a mess, so I used a frozen pie shell.

For the filling I peeled and sliced three granny smith apples, then squeezed the juice from half a lemon over them.  In another bowl I combined a little over 1/4 c. sugar, a little over 1/4 c. brown sugar, 3 T. all purpose flour, 1 tsp. cinnamon, and 1/4 tsp. ginger.  On the sugars I say a little over 1/4 c., which ended up combined amount was 3/4 c. sugars.  Mix all the dry ingredients together and stir in apple slices.

Once mixed well, the pie filling was poured into the shell.  I did cave and made homemade pie crust for the top shell.  Wish I could share a recipe, but all I really did was mix about 1 T. shortening and some cold water till it felt about dough consistency.  I rolled the dough out on some wax paper and used a small metal heart cookie cutter for the cut outs.

After managing to put the rolled out dough on top of the pie, I used a sharp knife to trim the excess from the edge of the pie.  Using a fork I pressed all along the edges to seal the two crusts together and put the dough heart cut outs on the top overlapping the cut out openings.  Pop in the oven at 375 degrees for 25 minutes and delicious yummy almost scratch apple pie.

One response to this post.

  1. […] Almost Scratch Apple Pie (kittrellcountrylife.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

