No Fail Fruit Cobbler

Last night I saw a bag of blackberries I had frozen a while back, so decided to take them out to defrost for this morning.  This morning I turned them into a lovely blackberry cobbler.  Sorry, didn’t think to take a picture till after we had dug in for breakfast.

This is a cobbler recipe I have been using for years and is so easy I have it memorized.  It really is no fail.  Just use two cups of your favorite fruit to make whatever kind of cobbler you like.  Best to use fresh fruit or frozen fruit you have defrosted, though you probably could use canned fruit.  I have used this recipe to make blackberry, blueberry, and peach cobblers.  It is so easy!

First melt a stick of butter and put in the bottom of your square pan.  If you like you could do my shortcut, just put a stick of butter in a glass pan and put it in the microwave to melt the butter(only takes a minute in my microwave).  Stir 1 cup of sugar into the butter.  Next add 1 cup milk and 1 cup self rising flour in the pan.  Stir all ingredients well.  Put the fruit right on top of the batter and do not stir.  Place the pan in a preheated oven and cook for 1 hour at 350 degrees.

About 5-10 minutes before the cobbler is due to be done, I will sometimes lightly sprinkle the top with a little sugar.  If I am making a peach cobbler I will also sprinkle a little cinnamon on top.  I like my cobbler a little on the not so done side, so many times I will pull it out about 5-10 minutes before the timer is up.  Hope you enjoy and be forewarned this cobbler is so tasty it disappears quickly!

 

Leave a Reply

