Back to the Real World

Grass in a field.

Grass in a field. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I got back home on Wednesday last week after a trip to dog sit for some friends while they were out of town.  Back to the real world.  Back to trying to sort out things.  My daughter did a real good job trying to look after things while I was away.  All of my seedling babies and the new plants in the raised bed were still living.  Only two very new herb seedlings didn’t manage to survive.

As much as I truly love spring and appreciate the warmer weather, it also has a down side.  Everything grows with such rapid speed it seems and the workload is just increased so much.  It doesn’t help when equipment failure wants to rear it’s ugly head either.  Have had difficulty getting the lawn equipment fixed or finding reasonably priced lawn equipment to at least temporarily replace it.

Yard full of things to do and not really able to do it.  The garden hasn’t been dug up yet.  I’d do it myself, but the tiller is broke, so I just hope I come up with a solution before all the hard work on my seedlings results in dead plants.  Maybe container gardening?  “BUT IT’S NOT WHAT I WANT TO DO!”, said in protest of Murphy’s law that if it can go wrong it will.  I can watch the grass as it mercilessly continues to get taller, but I can’t cut it.  Lastly, the well is acting like it wants to start up causing trouble.

Now, deep breath and release.  Done with the pity party and on to looking at the positives.  I took a walk outdoors bright and early this morning.  It felt absolutely wonderful outdoors and the birds were singing beautifully.  I watered my little raised bed, which is supposed to be strictly for herbs, but is sharing with a few vegetables.  The dwarf peas, mixed lettuces, and onions are growing wonderfully!  The fruit trees are wrapped up with the beginnings of very small fruits, which will hopefully reach maturity.  I was amazed at how big they are already.  Lastly, the Herb Fest in Wake Forest is coming up this weekend.  I am very excited and have been looking forward to it for quite a while.

P.S. – I wrote this blog entry this morning and had to leave before could post, but have fortunately been blessed with us finding a push mower this afternoon and now happily have most of the front yard cut!

Leave a Reply

