Whole Wheat Banana Oat Muffins

Yesterday I had some over ripe bananas sitting on the kitchen table just beckoning to be made into something.  I decided last night, I would make some muffins this morning.  Well, I searched around looking for recipes and ending up having fun experimenting.

Not all of my kitchen experiments turn out well, but this one is a keeper.  The muffins turned out moist, sweet enough, and held together well.  Of course, tasted great too or it wouldn’t be a keeper.  On the plus side, these are healthier than my usual muffins.

Whole Wheat Banana Oat Muffins

Whole Wheat Banana Oat Muffins

Whole Wheat Banana Oat Muffins

Ingredients :

  • 1 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1 c. whole oats
  • 1/4 c. flaxseed meal
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 2 Tbsp. melted butter
  • 4 Tbsp. unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 c. agave nectar
  • 2 mashed bananas
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 c. milk

Combine all the dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl.  Melt the butter in the microwave or in a pot on the stove.  Add the melted butter, applesauce, agave nectar, and milk in the bowl.  Do not stir just yet.  In a separate bowl mash 2 over ripe bananas with a fork.  Add the 2 eggs in with the bananas and beat slightly.  Pour the banana and egg mixture into the large mixing bowl with the other ingredients.  Now, stir all the ingredients together till moistened and well blended, but do not over stir.

Prepare muffin pan by greasing cups with cooking spray or using paper muffin liners.  Fill muffin cups with batter.  Place pan in a 350 degree preheated oven and bake for 25 minutes.  Makes 1 dozen muffins.  I actually pulled my muffins out at 23 minutes as I like my baked goods a little on the lighter side.  I also used fresh ground cinnamon in the recipe, just since I had it on hand, but cinnamon powder could be used.  Also, I think the cinnamon could’ve stood to be bumped up to 1 teaspoon for more flavor.  Yum!

Leave a Reply

