Cookies, Flowers, and Flops

Life has been busy and I’ve been working a little more, so there has been less time for my other favorite pursuits.  Oh, well, I’m just taking things day by day.  Thought I would share a bit from the kitchen and the great outdoors.  I’ll always somehow manage to find time for baking and gardening.

I love to try new recipes and am usually very good at following a recipe.  Every now and then I have a recipe flop.  I couldn’t figure out my flop till just now while writing this post, but oh well.  I made these lemon coconut cookies the other day and I love the flavor as well as it’s a nice chewy cookie.  It didn’t take long to get the dough ready and then it just has to chill in the fridge for at least an hour before you make them.

Lemon Coconut Cookies

Lemon Coconut Cookies

The batch of cookies I made did not raise the way they were supposed to, but I think I forgot to put the baking powder in, so no wonder the cookies didn’t raise up properly.  You can find the recipe over at the Once Upon a Recipe blog.  Even flopped, the flavor was so good I’m for giving it another try.

Another flop has been my garden.  It’s not done as well as I had hoped this year.  It’s probably a combination of not enough rain, maybe not enough fertilizer, poor dirt, and at present has a bit of excess weed growth.  I think I will start pulling up some things soon, which are done producing and see if I can’t start some plants for a fall garden.  Here’s a photo of my one sunflower, which grew this year.  It’s beautiful!

Sun Flower

Sun Flower

One response to this post.

  1. Glad you enjoyed the flavor of the cookies – give them another go and don’t forget the BP! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

